CollegeFrontier Conference


Five Montana Western Bulldogs selected to National Football Foundation Honor Society

Montana Western logo
Posted at 10:07 AM, Apr 15, 2020
and last updated 2020-04-19 11:55:06-04

(Editor's Note: Montana Western Athletics release)

IRVING, Texas -- The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced Wednesday the members of the 2020 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers. An impressive 1,432 players from 364 schools qualified for membership in the Society's 14th year.

"We are pleased to honor another impressive group of athletes as part of this year's Hampshire Honor Society," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "For more than a decade, the Hampshire Honor Society has served as a powerful vehicle for schools to recognize their college football players who have distinguished themselves both academically and athletically, and we congratulate the schools and each of these young men for their commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives."

This year five Montana Western Bulldogs received the honor:

Jason FerrisLinebackerDillon, Mont.Business, Natural Horsemanship
J.D. FerrisRunning BackDillon, Mont.Math Education
Jed HeffernanCenterHauula, HawaiiAnthropology
Paul HelfrichLong SnapperGardiner, Mont.Ecology
Walker McKitrickWide ReceiverMcAllister, Mont.Elementary Education

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes at the 778 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide.Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

  • Being a starter or a significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress towards degree requirements

Other Bulldogs to receive the honor include: Tristen Clark(2019), Nolan Donisthrope(2019), Zach Janis(2019), Riley Martello(2019), Jake McElroy(2019), Connor McKillop(2019), John Munger(2018), Beau Brekke(2017), Connor Greth(2017), Seth Mason(2017), Tyler Murray(2017), Tyrell Penner(2017), Dakota Pineda(2017), Skyler Roope(2017), Charlie Switzer(2017), TJ Benson(2016, 17), Dylan Kramer(2016), AJ Wilson(2016) and Jesse McCloud(2015)