CollegeMontana State Bobcats


Montana State's Matt Logie up for top first-year Division I coaching honor

Montana State vs. Montana men's basketball
Posted at 3:06 PM, Mar 19, 2024
and last updated 2024-03-19 17:06:10-04

(Editor's note: Montana State press release.)

BOZEMAN — Montana State head men’s basketball coach Matt Logie has been named a finalist for the Joe B. Hall National Coach of the Year Award, presented by to the top rookie or first-year NCAA Division I head coach.

Logie is in the midst of leading MSU to its third straight NCAA tournament, with the Cats playing Grambling State on Wednesday in a First Four matchup. Montana State owns a 17-17 record after winning the Big Sky Conference tournament championship last week, beating Montana 85-70 in the title tilt.

Logie came to MSU last spring after four seasons as head coach at NCAA Division II Point Loma (2019-23) and eight years at Division III Whitworth (2011-19).

The award is named for longtime Kentucky head coach Joe B. Hall, who led the Wildcats to a 297-100 record and the 1978 national championship. In his first year after replacing legendary Adolph Rupp, Hall led his squad to a 20-8 record and the SEC championship, advancing to the NCAA regional finals. The announcement of this year’s award winner will take place during the NCAA Final Four in Phoenix, Arizona.


Adrian Autry, Syracuse
Chad Boudreau, Western Illinois
Chris Casey, Fairfield
Aaron Fearne, Charlotte
Ross Hodge, North Texas
Bryan Hodgson, Arkansas State
Alan Huss, High Point
Matt Logie, Montana State
Phil Martelli Jr., Bryant
Chris Mudge, Sam Houston
Trevon Saddler, Nicholls
Jim Shaw, Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Duane Simpkins, American
Tony Skinn, George Mason
K.T. Turner, UT Arlington
Sundance Wicks, Green Bay