Wyoming Cowboys' kicker John Hoyland earns freshman All-America honor

WYO FB Hoyand.png
Posted at 12:37 PM, Jan 19, 2021

(Editor's note: UW Athletics release)

LARAMIE, Wyo. - The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) has selected Wyoming true freshman place-kicker John Hoyland to this year’s 2020 Freshman All-America Team.

Hoyland is one of only 32 freshman nationally named to this year’s FWAA Freshman All-America team. He is one of 17 true freshmen in the nation selected to this year’s team. The other 15 players named to the 2020 squad were redshirt freshmen.

Hoyland ended the 2020 season ranked No. 1 in the nation in field goals made per game, averaging 2.17 field goals per game. He earned 2020 Second Team All-Mountain West honors in voting by conference head coaches and media. Hoyland missed only one kick all season and ranked No. 1 in the Mountain West and No. 6 in the nation in field-goal percentage (92.9 percent). He made 13 of 14 field goal attempts his true freshman season. In addition to making 13 of 14 field goals on the season, he was a perfect 16 of 16 in PATs.

The true freshman also ranked No. 1 in the Mountain West and No. 19 in the nation in scoring among all players in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) at all positions, averaging 9.2 points per game. He ranked No. 5 in the Mountain West among all players at all positions in points responsible for, averaging 9.2 points per game. Hoyland led Wyoming in scoring, with 55 points.

Hoyland was named the Mountain West Special Teams Player of the Week in the season opener at Nevada as he was a perfect 4 for 4 in field goals and 2 of 2 in PATs. He made a 42-yard field goal to send the game to overtime and hit a 38-yarder to give Wyoming the lead, 34-31, in overtime before the Pokes lost, 34-37. Hoyland was also a perfect 3 for 3 in field goals at New Mexico and was a perfect 3 of 3 in field goals vs. Boise State. He made at least one field goal in all six games in 2020.

The true freshman from Broomfield, Colo., becomes the seventh Cowboy to earn the honor from the FWAA in the 20-year history of the Freshman All-America team. Hoyland is the first Cowboy special teams FWAA Freshman All-American. He is also the third Poke in the last three seasons and the fifth Cowboy in the past six seasons to receive the honor, joining Cowboys Solomon Byrd (Defensive End in 2019), Keegan Cryder (Center in 2018), Logan Wilson (Linebacker in 2016) and Andrew Wingard (Safety in 2015) to earn the honor from the Football Writers Association of America during the Craig Bohl era as head coach.

Other Cowboys to earn Freshman All-America honors from the FWAA in the 20 years of the team, beginning in 2001 include: Shamiel Gary (Safety in 2009) and Blair Burns (Cornerback in 2011).

Hoyland, Byrd and Cryder will all return as members of the Wyoming Cowboy Football team in 2021.

Here is the 2020 Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) Freshman All-America Team.



Pos. Player, School, Ht., Wt., Hometown

QB Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina, 6-3, 200, Indian Trail, N.C.

QB Spencer Rattler, Oklahoma, 6-1, 205, Phoenix, Ariz.

RB Ulysses Bentley IV, SMU, 5-10, 184, Houston, Texas

RB Kyren Williams, Notre Dame, 5-9, 195, St. Louis, Mo.

WR Kayshon Boutte, LSU, 6-0, 185, New Iberia, La. •

WR Marvin Mims, Oklahoma, 5-11, 177, Frisco, Texas •

WR Tahj Washington, Memphis, 5-11, 175, Marshall, Texas

OL Matt Goncalves, Pittsburgh, 6-6, 315, Manorville, N.Y.

OL Jeremy James, Ole Miss, 6-5, 330, Cumming, Ga.

OL Willie Lampkin, Coastal Carolina, 6-1, 295, Lakeland, Fla. •

OL Warren McClendon, Georgia, 6-4, 320, Brunswick, Ga.

OL Peter Skoronski, Northwestern, 6-4, 294, Park Ridge, Ill. •

OL Tyler Smith, Tulsa, 6-5, 332, Fort Worth, Texas


Pos. Player, School, Ht., Wt., Hometown

DL Ricky Barber, Western Kentucky, 6-3, 290, Louisville, Ky.

DL Khari Coleman, TCU, 6-2, 224, New Orleans, La. •

DL Calijah Kancey, Pittsburgh, 6-0, 270, Miami, Fla.

DL Myles Murphy, Clemson, 6-5, 275, Marietta, Ga. •

LB Will Anderson Jr., Alabama, 6-4, 235, Hampton, Ga. •

LB Tyler Grubbs, Louisiana Tech, 6-1, 221, New Orleans, La. •

LB Noah Sewell, Oregon, 6-3, 250, Malaeimi, American Samoa •

LB Stefon Thompson, Syracuse, 6-0, 235, Charlotte, N.C. •

DB Derrick Canteen, Georgia Southern, 5-11, 185, Evans, Ga.

DB Jalen Catalon, Arkansas, 5-10, 189, Mansfield, Texas

DB Emmanuel Forbes, Mississippi State, 6-0, 180, Grenada, Miss. •

DB Brandon Joseph, Northwestern, 6-1, 192, College Station, Texas

DB Malachi Moore, Alabama, 6-0, 182, Trussville, Ala. •

DB Eli Ricks, LSU, 6-2, 196, Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. •


Pos. Player, School, Ht., Wt., Hometown

K John Hoyland, Wyoming, 5-10, 162, Broomfield, Colo. •

P Tory Taylor, Iowa, 6-4, 225, Melbourne, Australia •

KR Trayvon Rudolph, Northern Illinois, 5-10, 179, Crete, Ill. •

PR Demario Douglas, Liberty, 5-8, 165, Jacksonville, Fla.

AP Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State, 5-5, 168, Round Rock, Texas •


Karl Dorrell, Colorado

• Denotes true treshman

About the Football Writers Association of America

The FWAA consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at

2020 FWAA Freshman All-America Committee: Shaun Alexander; Mark Anderson, Las Vegas Review-Journal (MW); Mark Blaudschun, (ACC); Scott Dochterman, The Athletic (Big Ten); Mike Griffith, Atlanta Journal-Constitution (Independents); Tommy Hicks, Freelance (Sun Belt); Ron Higgins, Tiger Rag (SEC); Blair Kerkhoff, The Kansas City Star (Big 12); Matt Murschel, Orlando Sentinel (American Athletic); Nick Piotrowicz, Toledo Blade (MAC); Steve Richardson, FWAA Executive Director; Grant Traylor, Huntington Herald Dispatch (Conference USA); Ryan Young, (Pac-12).