Former Wyoming Cowboys receiver Malcom Floyd finalist for Polynesian Football HOF

Wyo Malcom Floyd.JPG
Posted at 3:19 PM, Oct 11, 2019

(Edtor's note: UW Athletics release)

HONOLULU, HI – Former University of Wyoming and San Diego Chargers wide receiver Malcom Floyd is one of 10 finalists for induction to the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Class of 2020.

Floyd played for Wyoming between 2000-2003 and still ranks in the top 10 in school history in career receiving yards (2,411), career receptions (186) and career touchdown receptions (14). Floyd went on to play 12 seasons in the NFL – all with the San Diego Chargers prior to him retiring after the 2015 season. He concluded his NFL career with 321 receptions for 5,550 yards and 34 receiving TDs.

The Finalists were selected from a field of over 100 nominees by the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee which includes former NFL Player and Inaugural Inductee Jack Thompson (Chairman), Coaches Ron McBride and Dick Vermeil, past NFL player and Inaugural Inductee Olin Kreutz, past NFLPA President and Inaugural Inductee Kevin Mawae, former NFL Player and Class of 2015 Inductee Ray Schoenke, ESPN Sportscaster Neil Everett, NFL Network writer and commentator Steve Wyche, and Honolulu Sportscaster Robert Kekaula.

“Special thanks to our outstanding Selection Committee, who has once again put forward an outstanding group of Finalists for the Class of 2020,” said Jack Thompson, Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee Chairman. “This is quite a challenge because there are so many great Polynesian football players, coaches and contributors.”

“On behalf of our Board of Directors, we congratulate the Class of 2020 Finalists,” said Jesse Sapolu, Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Chairman, Co-Founder and Inductee. “Each of the finalists has made a significant impact on our community and the game of football.”

The Selection Committee and all living Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Inductees will vote in the coming weeks to select the individuals who will be inducted as the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Class of 2020.

Four inductees will be announced on October 23, 2019. They will be honored during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend and during the Polynesian Bowl on January 17 & 18, 2020.


§ Tony Banks (QB) Michigan State; Pro: NFL (STL, BAL, DAL, WAS, HOU) 11 years, Samoan ancestry

§ David Dixon (G) Arizona State; Pro: (MIN) 13 years, Maori ancestry

§ Malcom Floyd (WR) Wyoming; Pro (SAN) 12 years, Samoan ancestry

§ Chris Kemoeatu (G) Utah; Pro (PIT) 7 years, Tongan ancestry

§ Frank Manumaluega (LB) San Jose State; Pro (KC) 3 years, Samoan ancestry

§ Haloti Ngata (DT) Oregon; Pro (BAL, DET, PHI) 13 years, Tongan ancestry

§ Alapati “Al” Noga (DL) Hawai’i; Pro: NFL (MIN, WAS, IND) 7 years, Samoan ancestry

§ Falaniko “Niko” Noga (LB) Hawai’i; Pro: NFL (AZ, DET) 8 years, Samoan ancestry

§ Dominic Raiola (C) Nebraska; Pro: NFL (DET) 14 years, Hawaiian ancestry

§ Charlie Wedemeyer; Former Head Football Coach, Los Gatos High School (CA), Hawaiian ancestry

About the Polynesian Bowl: The Polynesian Bowl is held annually during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week and is televised LIVE on CBS Sports Network. Major sponsors include adidas, BodyArmor, CrossCountry Mortgage, Friends of Hawai’i Charities, Hawaiian Airlines, Hawaii Building & Construction Trades Council, Hawai’i News Now, Hawai’i Tourism Authority, Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel and Riddell.

About the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame: The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia’s greatest players, coaches and contributors. Its permanent home is located at the Polynesian Cultural Center (O`ahu) and was established in 2013 by Super Bowl Champions Jesse Sapolu and Ma`a Tanuvasa. Other board members include Troy Polamalu, Vai Sikahema, June Jones and Reno Mahe.