Montana’s Kent Haslam to serve as FCS Athletic Directors Association president

Posted at 7:25 PM, Jun 17, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-17 21:25:42-04

(Editor’s note: story by Montana Sports Information)

MISSOULA – The Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) has selected Kent Haslam, director of athletics at the University of Montana, to serve as President for the 2019-20 membership year.

“I am honored to serve as the President of the FCS ADA for the upcoming year,” stated Haslam. “I believe strongly in the role college athletics plays in higher education today and look forward to building on the outstanding work that has already been done. Our priorities really remain the same. Namely, promoting the Football Championship Subdivision, advancing initiatives that enhance the student-athlete experience, and bringing unity around topics unique to our institutions.”

Haslam takes over for Bill Smith, director of athletics at Bryant University, who served for the 2018-19 year and will transition to Immediate Past President. In addition to Haslam, the following athletics directors will serve as FCS ADA Officers for the 2019-20 membership year: 1st Vice President Ashley Robinson, vice president and director of athletics at Jackson State University; 2nd Vice President Nicki Moore, vice president and director of athletics at Colgate University and Tom Michael, athletics director at Eastern Illinois University as 3rd vice president.

In addition to the 2018-19 Officers, the following directors of athletics will serve on the FCS ADA Executive Committee: Mark Orr, Sacramento State (Big Sky); Milton Overton, Kennesaw State University (Big South); Mark Benson, University at Albany (Colonial); Vicky Chun, Yale University (Ivy); Ed Scott, Morgan State University (Mid-Eastern); David Herbster, University of South Dakota (Missouri Valley); Brian Barrio, Central Connecticut State University (Northeast); Steve Lochmueller, Eastern Kentucky University (Ohio Valley); Jeff Altier, Stetson University (Pioneer); Randy Eaton, Western Carolina University (Southern); and Matt Roan, Nicholls State University (Southland).

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 25th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association’s mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 54th year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit