44 Montana Grizzlies make Big Sky academic all-conference list

Posted at 5:49 PM, Apr 12, 2019

(Editor’s note: Story by Montana Sports Information)

MISSOULA — Forty-four Montana student-athletes were named Academic All-Big Sky Conference this week as the league celebrated the classroom achievements of the winter sports of basketball and indoor track and field.

Montana’s total ranked third in the Big Sky, behind only Eastern Washington and Idaho.

Twenty-one of coach Brian Schweyen’s student-athletes from his women’s track and field team were recognized with an award that requires a minimum 50 percent participation rate for the past season and a cumulative GPA of at least 3.2.

Schweyen’s men’s team had 14 student-athletes honored, a total that ranked fourth in the Big Sky in that sport.

Coach Shannon Schweyen’s Lady Griz basketball team had six players honored, coach Travis DeCuire’s league-champion men’s basketball team had three.

Seven of the 44 Grizzlies honored collected their fourth winter academic award, meaning they began competing in a significant capacity from their freshman seasons and matched it with continued academic success.

Michael Oguine (3.5 GPA, marketing) of the men’s basketball team was honored for the fourth time, as was Alex Mustard (3.43, economics) of the men’s indoor track and field team.

The women’s track and field team had five athletes go 4 for 4: Jessica Bailey (3.7, health and human performance), Hana Feilzer (3.2, sociology), Megan Franz (3.59, chemistry), Carla Nicosia (3.4, health and human performance) and Morgan Sulser (3.65, educational leadership).

Montana’s 2018-19 Winter Academic All-Big Sky Conference selections

Men’s basketball: Mack Anderson (Fr., Business administration); Kelby Kramer (Fr., Computer science); Michael Oguine (Sr., Marketing)

Women’s basketball: Sammy Fatkin (So., Health and human performance); Kylie Frohlich (Fr., Health and human performance); Gabi Harrington (So., Journalism); McKenzie Johnston (Jr., Health and human performance); Jordyn Schweyen (Fr., Business administration); Emma Stockholm (Jr., Early childhood education)

Men’s indoor track and field: Ridge Albright (Fr., Undeclared); Trevor Henry (So., Computer science); Paul Johnstone (Fr., Business administration); Kip Krebsbach (Fr., Health and human performance); Callum Macnab (Jr., Political science); Xavier Melice (Fr., Business administration); Alex Mustard (Sr., Economics); Karsten Pease (Sr., Computer science); Noah Ramirez (Fr., Undeclared); Sterling Reneau (Sr., Health and human performance); Josh Riley (Jr., Health and human performance); Nolan Staats (Jr., Management); Jordan Stow (So., History); Mitchell Ward (Fr., Business administration)

Women’s indoor track and field: Jessica Bailey (Sr., Health and human performance); Jane Booth (Jr., Health and human performance); Madison Carr (So., Health and human performance); Chloe Cosgrove (Fr., Wildlife biology); Abby Dodge (So., Health and human performance); Olivia Ellis (Jr., Health and human performance); Samantha Engebretsen (Jr., Social work); Hana Feilzer (Sr., Sociology); Megan Franz (Sr., Chemistry); Mariah Harvey (Jr., Educational leadership); Holly Houston (Jr., Health and human performance); Rachel Lewis (Fr., Economics); Jaree Mane (So., Health and human performance); Carla Nicosia (Sr., Health and human performance); Emma Normand (Fr., Psychology); Morgan Radtke (Fr., Health and human performance); Erica Simison (Fr., Health and human performance); Carly Smiedala (Jr., Psychology); Morgan Sulser (Sr., Educational leadership); Rachel Torrey (Fr., Biology); Jansen Ziola (So., Pharmacy)