STATS FCS honors 11 Big Sky Conference football all-Americans

Posted at 10:00 AM, Dec 19, 2018

(Editor’s note: Big Sky Conference athletics release)

OGDEN, Utah — Nothing says happy holidays during postseason football like all-America honors. The Big Sky Conference had 11 of its players stretching over eight teams recognized on the STATS FCS All-America team, announced by the organization Tuesday.

After only three nods on the first team a year ago, the Big Sky picked up five honors in 2018. Cal Poly fullback Joe Protheroe, UC Davis wide receiver Keelan Doss and Weber State offensive lineman Iosua Opeta were offensive honorees. On the defensive side of the ball, Montana linebacker Dante Olson was recognized, while Eastern Washington placekicker Roldan Alcobendas earned special teams honors.

Portland State tight end Charlie Taumoepeau, Eastern Washington defensive lineman Jay-Tee Tiuli and Idaho punter Cade Coffey were selected to the second team.

Eastern Washington offensive lineman Spencer Blackburn, Montana State all-purpose player Troy Andersen and Weber State linebacker LeGrand Toia picked up third team accolades.

A complete list of honorees can be found at

2018 Big Sky STATS FCS All-America Honorees

First team

FB – Joe Protheroe, senior, 5-11, 230, Cal Poly
WR – Keelan Doss, senior, 6-3, 210, UC Davis
OL – Iosua Opeta, senior, 6-4, 305, Weber State
LB – Dante Olson, junior, 6-3, 237, Montana
PK – Roldan Alcobendas, senior, 6-0, 180, Eastern Washington

Second team

TE – Charlie Taumoepeau, junior, 6-3, 240, Portland State
DL – Jay-Tee Tiuli, senior, 6-4, 315, Eastern Washington
Special teams
P – Cade Coffey, sophomore, 6-1, 191, Idaho

Third team

OL – Spencer Blackburn, senior, 6-2, 285, Eastern Washington
LB – LeGrand Toia, senior, 6-2, 225, Weber State
AP – Troy Andersen, sophomore, 6-3, 215, Montana State