Big Sky Conference lands 12 on Hero Sports all-sophomore team, 4 Montanans

Posted at 9:21 AM, Dec 19, 2018
and last updated 2018-12-19 18:54:43-05

(Editor’s note: Big Sky Conference release)

OGDEN, Utah — The accolades continue to roll in for the Big Sky Conference from HERO Sports. The organization announced its FCS Sophomore All-America team which had 12 Big Sky players recognized, including four combined from Montana and Montana State.

Leading the way for the sophomores were a trio of all-Big Sky First Team picks – Montana State quarterback Troy Andersen, Sacramento State running back Elijah Dotson and Weber State kick returner Rashid Shaheed. Joining the group on the first team were Montana’s Jace Lewis on special teams, Montana wide receiver Samuel Akem, Weber State kicker Trey Tuttle and Wildcat offensive lineman Ty Whitworth.

Five players earned honorable mention accolades for the league. Eastern Washington quarterback Eric Barriere, Montana State offensive lineman Lewis Kidd, UC Davis wide receiver Jared Harrell, Idaho punter Cade Coffey, and Northern Arizona punter DJ Arnson.

A complete List of honorees can be found at

HERO SPORTS sophomore all-America

First Team
ATH, Troy Andersen, Montana State
ST, Jace Lewis, Montana
WR, Samuel Akem, Montana
RB, Elijah Dotson, Sacramento State
ST, Rashid Shaheed, Weber State
PK, Trey Tuttle, Weber State
OL, Ty Whitworth, Weber State

Honorable Mention
QB, Eric Barriere, Eastern Washington
P, Cade Coffey, Idaho
P, DJ Arnson, Northern Arizona
OL, Lewis Kidd, Montana State
WR, Jared Harrell, UC Davis