Montana Grizzlies, Montana State Bobcats begin Big Sky Conference volleyball tournament Thursday

Posted at 12:59 PM, Nov 21, 2018
and last updated 2018-11-21 14:59:54-05

(Editor’s note: Big Sky Conference media release)

OGDEN, Utah – The Big Sky Conference volleyball championship kicks off on Thursday, Nov. 22 at the Bank of Colorado Arena in Greeley, Colo. with the championship match set for Saturday night. The championship is hosted by Northern Colorado.

Northern Arizona and Idaho were named the 2018 Big Sky regular-season co-champions after both teams finished with 15-3 league marks. The Lumberjacks were awarded the No. 1 seed and the Vandals the No. 2 seed in this week’s Big Sky championship tournament.

For the first time since 2015, a school other than North Dakota will earn the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Volleyball Championships. The No. 1 seed has won the tourney two of the last three years (NAU-2015, UND 2016).

Weber State earned the No. 3 seed, followed by Sacramento State (No. 4), Idaho State (No. 5), Northern Colorado (No. 6), Montana (No. 7), and Montana State (No. 8).

Montana is making its first conference tournament appearance since 2014, while Montana State is making its first trip since 2012.

The Big Sky all-conference teams were announced Tuesday with Idaho State’s Abby Garrity and Northern Arizona’s Kaylie Jorgenson earning co-offensive player of the year honors.

Northern Arizona’s Heaven Harris earned the final Big Sky offensive player of the week accolade of the season, while Idaho’s Alycia Wodke earned the defensive player of the week nod. Northern Arizona led all schools with nine weekly honors this season.

All matches of the tournament can be seen on Pluto TV Ch. 231 and The semifinals and finals will be televised live on Eleven Sports.

The Division I Women’s Volleyball Selection Show will be on Nov. 25 at 8:30 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

Big Sky Conference volleyball championship pairings

Thursday-Saturday at Greeley, Colo.

Thursday, quarterfinals

No. 5 Idaho State vs. No. 4 Sacramento State, 10 a.m.
No. 8 Montana State vs. No. 1 Northern Arizona, 12:30 p.m.
No. 7 Montana vs. No. 2 Idaho, 4:30 p.m.
No. 6 Northern Colorado vs. No. 3 Weber State, 7 p.m.

Friday, semifinals

Idaho State/Sacramento State winner vs. Montana State/Northern Arizona winner, 4:35 p.m.
Montana/Idaho winner vs. Northern Colorado/Weber State winner, 7:05 p.m.

Saturday, championship

TBD, 7:35 p.m.

For the complete bracket, please click here.