GREAT FALLS — The rosters for the 72nd annual Montana East-West Shrine Game have been announced. The game will be played July 21, 2018 at Great Falls.

The East Team will be coached by Levi Wesche, who has been the head coach at Bozeman High the past two seasons. This will mark Wesche’s third time coaching in the Shrine Game, his first as the head coach.

The East will feature five players from two-time defending Class AA state champion Billings Senior. Blake Allred, Nolan Askelson and Micah Ans will line up on the defensive side of the ball, while Ben LaBeau and Gabe Sulser will take the field at receiver on the offense.

State champion Jeremiah Paine of Westby-Grenora will play for the East, as well.

Story continues below

Wesche will also be coaching three of his former players at Bozeman: defensive end Jory Choate, cornerback Tyler Dobe and wide receiver Logan Kleinhans.

The West will be coached by Kyle Mihelish of Helena Capital, where he has been the head coach the past three seasons. He has guided the Bruins to the state semifinals each season and will be coaching in the Shrine Game for the fifth time, this being his first as head coach.

Five of Mihelish’s Capital Bruins were selected for the West’s roster: defensive lineman Justin Jenks, offensive linemen Conor Quick, Carson Shuman and Trevor Welnel, and running back Seth Schneider.

State champions Colton Grange of Drummond-Philipsburg, Garrett Graves of Eureka, and Hayden Falkner, Austin Green, Logan Kolodejchuk and Ben Windauer of Columbia Falls will also play for the West.

The East holds the all-time advantage in the series, 39 wins to 32, after last year’s 38-24 victory. Billings Senior quarterback Nate Dick was named the 2017 most outstanding player, earning the Roger Silvernale Memorial Trophy.

The Montana East-West Shrine Game is one of the oldest high school all-star football games in the United States. The state’s best players have met on the gridiron every year since 1947 to raise money for the Shriner’s Hospital in Spokane. In the past five years, the game has raised nearly $500,000.

The full rosters are below.

East Roster

Head Coach: Levi Wesche, Bozeman.

QB — Garrison Rothwell, Great Falls CMR; Aaron White, Shelby.

RB — Alec Lovegren, Sidney; Lane Sumner, Huntley Project; Ben Voss, Billings Central.

WR — Zach Dinardi, Miles City; Logan Kleinhans, Bozeman; Ben LaBeau, Billings Senior; Keagan Stroop, Belt; Gabe Sulser, Billings Senior.

TE — Treyton Pickering, Sunburst; Layne Swigart, Sidney.

OL — Gerrit Bloemendall, Great Falls CMR; Nick Clawson, Billings West; Branson Frost, Billings Skyview; Hayes Meged, Miles City; Niklas Nordstog, Billings Skyview; Max Peters, Sidney; Dalton Roscoe, Belgrade; Merlin Whitedirt, Colstrip.

DL — Brandon Aimsback, Browning; Justin Brown, Miles City; Jory Choate, Bozeman; Trey Copeland, Huntley Project; Tanner Harrell, Shepherd; BJ Hatcher, Laurel; Bruce Spang, Billings Skyview.

ILB — Blake Allred, Billings Senior; Nolan Askelson, Billings Senior; Sawyer Thorgerson, Sidney.

OLB — Tyler Buckingham, Billings West; Griffen Lee, Fairfield; Wyatt Selman, Huntley Project.

DB — Micah Ans, Billings Senior; Kevin Boes, Great Falls High; Tyler Dobe, Bozeman; Caleb Knoche, Forsyth; Damien Nelson, Great Falls CMR; Jeremiah Paine, Westby-Grenora; Si Ryan, Billings West.

Alternates: Wyatt Blythe, Lewistown; Chris Campbell, Winnett-Grass Range; Brandon Cooper, Bozeman; Dawson Clayton, White Sulphur Springs; Tylan Croy, Huntley Project; Colten Curry, Valier; Cade Dockter, Glendive; Colton Eliason, Billings Senior; David Evans, Hardin; Cody Gagnon, Billings West; James Gilham, Browning; Jayden Holly, Glendive; Robert Keiser, Glendive; Riley Linder, Scobey; Derek Loring, Browning; Dalton Macy, Billings Skyview; Latrell McCutcheon, Bozeman; Jonathan Moore, Choteau; Chadd Naillon, Colstrip; Jake Olsen, Great Falls CMR; TJ Reynolds, Shelby; Logan Rodaker, Billings Skyview; Jared Schaaf, Billings Skyview; Ethan Schenk, Fairfield; Trace Simonson, Malta; David Skerritt, Glendive; Codi Small, Hardin; Javy Somerfield, Power-Dutton-Brady; Colter Zentner, Bridger.

West Roster

Head Coach: Kyle Mihelish, Helena Capital.

QB — Garrett Graves, Eureka; Kaleb Winterburn, Helena High.

RB — Bridger Bauder, Hamilton; Seth Schneider, Helena Capital; Drew Turner, Kalispell Glacier.

WR — Wyatt Alexander, Whitehall; Tyler Chouindard, Hamilton; Mark Estes, Kalispell Glacier; Nick Germer, Missoula Sentinel; David Koppang, Missoula Loyola,

TE — Max Morris, Kalispell Glacier.

OL — Hayden Falkner, Columbia Falls; Dawson Hoerauf, Whitehall; Greson Mandic, Butte High; Joe McElroy, Missoula Loyola; Conor Quick, Helena Capital; Carson Shuman, Helena Capital; Hunter Wellcome, Kalispell Flathead; Trevor Welnel, Helena Capital.

DL — Clay Allison, Dillon; Hunter Hartwick, Butte Central; Justin Jenks, Helena Capital; Logan Kolodejchuk, Columbia Falls; Michael Lee, Kalispell Flathead; Caeden Suero, Helena High; Karson Wheat, Deer Lodge.

LB — Colton Grange, Drummond-Philipsburg; Ryan Moodry, Butte Central; Brandon Morley, Missoula Sentinel; Tucker Nadeau, Kalispell Flathead; Conner Nash, Helena High; Brent Tezak, Dillon; Corbin Wood, Ennis.

DB — Austin Green, Columbia Falls; Kadin Lahti, Missoula Big Sky; Jackson Pepe, Kalispell Glacier; Ethan Pyron, Frenchtown; Ben Windauer, Columbia Falls; Tanner Wood, Ennis.

Specialist — Levi Janacaro, Missoula Big Sky.

Alternates — Zeb Antonioli, Butte Central; Nate Brunett, Jefferson; Jake Caldwell, Frenchtown; Austin Demars, Kalispell Flathead; Augie Emslie, Bigfork; Tyler Flink, Missoula Big Sky; Zach Fussell, Hamilton; Alex Gavlak, Stevensville; Hayden Guisti, Jefferson; Jacob Hagan, Columbia Falls; Cody Hartsoch, Kalispell Glacier; Easton Hatfield, Townsend; Cal Holgate, Manhattan; Ty Hoppie, Frenchtown; Coby King, Dillon; Kyler Koski, Columbia Falls; Conor McCarvel, Helena Capital; Caden Messer, Missoula Sentinel; Taylor Morton, Kalispell Flathead; Mark Northey, Helena Capital; Brenton Pluid, Eureka; Braden Smith, Whitehall; Haden Smith, Polson; Kyle Tabbert, Helena High; Logan Taylor, Bigfork; Jay VonHeeder, Plains; Corbin Walker, Butte High; Coy Whyte, Hamilton; Rylan Wilcox, Missoula Big Sky.