(Editor’s note: Montana Tech media release)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2017 Daktronics-NAIA Football Scholar Athletes Friday. Nine Montana Tech Orediggers made the list.

One senior and eight juniors were named to the prestigious list. Daniel Van Dyke was the lone senior and is appearing on the list for the second time. Juniors making the grade are Clay Dean, Jacob Clarke, Danny Mannix, Jackson King, Arthur Flynn, Reid Nelson, Jacob Yedica and Hunter Clark.

In order to be nominated by an institution’s head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status.