BOZEMAN — Montana standout quarterback Gresch Jensen finished third and Montana State’s two-way star Troy Andersen finished 13th in voting for the Jerry Rice Award on Tuesday. The award is given to the most outstanding freshman in the FCS.

Kennesaw State linebacker Bryson Armstrong won the award by one point (347) over Yale running back Zane Dudek (346). Jensen finished with 237 points, while Andersen garnered 39. Here are the Top 15 vote-getters, along with the vote breakdown:

1. Bryson Armstrong, LB, Kennesaw State: 29-32-12-12-14-347
2. Zane Dudek, RB, Yale: 19-31-26-20-9-346
3. Gresch Jensen, QB, Montana: 18-13-13-17-22-237
4. Daniel Smith, QB, Campbell: 21-11-12-4-7-200
5. Davis Cheek, QB, Elon: 16-10-15-8-12-193
6. Jabril Cox, LB, North Dakota State: 7-13-13-12-9-159
7. Caylin Newton, QB, Howard: 14-6-12-12-3-157
8. Franklin McCain III, CB, North Carolina A&T: 5-10-13-16-9-145
9. Peter Guerriero, RB, Monmouth: 5-6-9-11-13-111
10. Grant Breneman, QB, Colgate: 7-3-4-6-6-77
11. Anthony Knighton, DE, Southern Illinois: 2-1-2-7-11-45
12. Reynard Ellis, LB, Furman: 2-3-4-3-4-44
13. Troy Anderson, RB/LB, Montana State: 3-1-4-3-2-39
14. Wesley Dugger, RB, Davidson: 0-3-4-4-3-35
15. Vincent Sellers, S, Tennessee State: 0-4-3-1-1-28

Jensen was thrown into the starting role at Montana, following an injury to Reese Phillips early in the season. The Auburn, Wash. native threw for 2,531 yards in 10 games, to go with 20 touchdowns. He also ran for 203 yards and six scores.

Story continues below

Andersen found time quickly at Montana State, due to starting running back Nick LaSane’s four-game suspension at the beginning of the season. The Dillon native totaled 579 yards on offense and eight touchdowns. He started one game at linebacker in his freshman campaign and totaled nine tackles this fall.

Jensen and Andersen were the lone finalists for the award from the Big Sky Conference.