(Photo SLS Promotions)

(Inside Line Promotions release)

BILLINGS – BMP Speedway will host the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series this Saturday for the first time since 2008.

The Big Sky Brawl at Billings is the fourth visit for ‘The Greatest Show on Dirt.’ Steve Kinser claimed the inaugural event in 2004 before Daryn Pittman picked up the triumph in 2005. Joey Saldana was victorious during the most recent visit.

While it has been nearly a decade since the World of Outlaws has competed at the 3/8-mile, semi-banked dirt oval, the track has hosted a variety of sprint car events throughout the years. A handful of Rocky Mountain Sprint Car Series – a new class to Montana – races have been held this year along with a pair of NSA Series events at BMP Speedway, which has also hosted numerous ASCS races. Those classes showcase a 360ci engine while the World of Outlaws use 410ci engines, which feature approximately 950 horsepower – an increase of roughly 250 horsepower.

Story continues below

Not only are the World of Outlaws race cars faster, the drivers are arguably the best in the world. BMP Speedway is one of approximately 90 races from coast to coast for the premier sprint car series and full-time drivers that include: recent Knoxville Nationals winner and championship points leader Donny Schatz of North Dakota, Brad Sweet of California, David Gravel of Connecticut, Pittman of Oklahoma, Shane Stewart of Oklahoma, Jason Johnson of Louisiana, Kraig Kinser of Indiana, Sheldon Haudenschild of Ohio, Logan Schuchart of Pennsylvania, Jason Sides of Tennessee, Paul McMahan of California, Brent Marks of Pennsylvania, Greg Wilson of Ohio, Jacob Allen of Pennsylvania, Clyde Knipp of Missouri and Jac Haudenschild of Ohio.

Several top-notch drivers from the Midwest and Upper Midwest are also expected to make the trip along with Californian Dominic Scelzi, who is the oldest son of NHRA champion Gary Scelzi, for the event.

IMCA modifieds will also be competing on Saturday. Travis Davis holds a five-point lead over Jeremy Meirhofer in the championship standings with Mitch Ferguson only 29 points out of the top spot.

Both Davis and Meirhofer have earned two wins at BMP Speedway this season while Eddie Kirchoff leads the class with four victories. Kenny Baumann and Stewart Hayward have also visited Victory Lane.

Advanced tickets, which include a Pit Combo Special that provides a reserved seat, a pit pass to meet the drivers and get close to the race cars as well as a unique ‘Class of 2017’ driver poster, for the Big Sky Brawl at Billings can be purchased at https://slspromotions.ticketforce.com/ . Tickets can also be ordered by calling 815-344-2023.

The pits will open at 2 p.m. with the main grandstands opening at 4 p.m. Hot laps are set for 6:30 p.m. and racing is slated to begin at 7:30 p.m.