(Photo courtesy BMP)

(Inside Line Promotions media release)

BILLINGS – The championship chases are heating up with only a handful of races remaining this season at BMP Speedway.

The lights will turn back on this Saturday when the action will feature WISSOTA late models, IMCA modifieds, WISSOTA midwest modifieds and the Rocky Mountain Sprint Car Series following a rare weekend off for the 3/8-mile oval.

Rayce McCord has used consistency to stand atop the WISSOTA late models championship standings by 34 points over three-time feature winner Kelly Hample. Ted Hample ranks third – 48 points out of the lead – with Chris Dunn 49 points behind McCord and Kinzer McCord 99 points back.

Story continues below

Travis Davis owns a seven-point lead over Jeremy Meirhofer in the IMCA modifieds standings. Mitch Ferguson is 23 points behind Davis with Tracy Wittenberg 61 points out and Joshua Nave 78 points from the lead.

Dennis Hurd holds a narrow one-point lead in the WISSOTA midwest modifieds standings with Rod Lorenz, who leads the division with three wins, in tow. Cory Wilder is 22 points behind Hurd with Cal Rossner 47 points out of the lead and Devin Kenaston 53 points out.

Hurd and Bill Carey both have a pair of Rocky Mountain Sprint Car Series victories with Shane Moore also driving to a win.

The front gates are slated to open at 5:30 p.m. with racing at 7 p.m.

Tickets are $14 ($12 pre-buy) for adults and $10 ($8 pre-buy) for seniors, military members and students ages 12 to 17 years old. Admission is free for children ages 11 and younger. Pit passes are $30 per person.