PEORIA, Ill. – Great Falls athletic director Gary DeGooyer and Whitefish boys track and field coach Derek Schulz each collected top honors from the National High School Athletic Coaches Association banquet this month. Numerous other Montana coaches were finalists at the awards ceremony.

DeGooyer, who has served as an athletic director for three decades at four different schools in the Treasure State, was named named the National Athletic Director of the Year. This year marks his 20th in the Electric City working with the Great Falls school systems. DeGooyer has overseen renovations in football and track facilities, wrestling rooms and the construction of the Siebel Soccer Complex on the east end of Great Falls. He serves on state and national athletic director boards and committees and has twice been a finalist for the award of athletic director of the year. DeGooyer has twice been named the Montana AD of the year.

Schulz, the National Track Coach of the Year, has 21 years of coaching experience and has tallied more than 2,500 multi-team event wins in his career. His track and field programs have collected seven Montana state titles, a runner-up finish and numerous individual accomplishments at hundreds of meets and invitationals. Schulz is a two-time national finalist and seven-time Montana coach of the year.

Other Montana finalists for coach of the year included Paul Barta (Columbus boys basketball), Mark Albert (Hamilton girls cross country), Les Meyer (Fairfield football) Gregg Wasson (Harlowton golf), Larry Smith (Polson softball), Julie O’Dell (Hardin cheer), Tad Schye (Malta track and field) and Iona Stookey (Huntley Project volleyball).

Story continues below

Helena Capital’s Dick McMahon and Kalispell Glacier’s Jim Kola were each finalists for assistant coach of the year honors.