(Photo courtesy PBR)

PBR Press Release

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – Eight-year PBR Built Ford Tough Series veteran Stormy Wing (Dalhart, Texas) turned in a historic performance to win the Ty Murray Invitational, presented by Isleta Resort and Casino, Sunday afternoon at WisePies Arena, aka The Pit.

Wing went 3-for-4 and capped his weekend with a masterful 95.25-point ride on reigning PBR World Champion Bull SweetPro’s Bruiser (D&H Cattle Co./ Buck Battle Co.) in the Built Ford Tough Championship Round. The ride is tied for the fifth-highest score in PBR history with J.B. Mauney’s (Statesville, North Carolina) famous ride on three-time PBR World Champion Bull Bushwacker (Julio Moreno Bucking Bulls) in 2013.

“If Stormy Wing lives to be 100 years old, he will always remember his 95.25-point ride on Bruiser in the championship round of the Ty Murray Invitational in Albuquerque,” said Ty Murray, PBR co-founder, nine-time World Champion and namesake of this weekend’s event.

Story continues below

Wing’s win, his first BFTS event victory since 2014, earned him 715 total world points and $41,080. It also rocketed him from No. 33 in the world standings to begin Round 1 on Friday all the way to No. 10 following his finish on Sunday.

World No. 1 Eduardo Aparecido (Gouvelandia, Brazil) tied for second place with Cody Nance (Paris, Tennessee). Aparecido went 2-for-4 and closed out his weekend with an emphatic 91.25-point trip aboard Speed Demon (Dakota Rodeo/ Chad Berger/ Clay Struve/ Heald Pro Bulls). The Brazilian pocketed 265 total points toward the world standings and $19,230.

Aparecido now leads No. 2 Jess Lockwood (Volborg, Montana), who is currently sidelined with an injury, by 1,152.5 points.

Nance, the 2009 PBR Rookie of the Year, turned in a vintage 3-for-4 performance to split second place with Aparecido and earn his own share of 265 world points and $11,785. He rode Juicy Fruit (Western Star Bucking Bulls) for 86.25 points in Round 3 before eventually being bucked off by BC Circular Insanity (Dakota Rodeo/ Chad Berger/ Clay Struve/ H&C Bucking Bulls) in the championship round.

Nance leaves New Mexico the No. 21 ranked bull rider in the world.

Shortly after landing the cover of the current issue of Men’s Fitness, Guilherme Marchi (Itupeva, Brazil) rode his way to a fourth place finish in Albuquerque, and even closer to PBR history. Marchi went 3-for-4 over the weekend including an 85.25-point ride on Wired Child (01 Cattle Co.) in Round 3. The ride was Marchi’s 596th on the BFTS and leaves the PBR’s all-time leader in qualified rides four away from the 600-ride milestone.

2016 PBR Brazil Champion Dener Barbosa (Paulo De Faria, Brazil) rounded out the Top 5 after a 2-for-4 weekend. Barbosa rode Grave Digger (Viducic Bucking Bulls) for 86.5 points in Round 3 before eventually being bucked off by Big Black Cat (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/ Clay Struve/ Heald Pro Bulls) in 5.12 seconds in the championship round. The Brazilian rookie picked up 145 world points along with $6,583. He also moved into the lead of the 2017 Rookie of the Year race by 79.17 points over fellow Brazilian Claudio Montanha Jr. (Ribeirao Dos Indios, Brazil).

Pearl Harbor (Dakota Rodeo/ Chad Berger/ Clay Struve/ H&C Bucking Bulls) and reigning PBR World Champion Bull SweetPro’s Bruiser (D&H Cattle Co./ Buck Battle Co.) were named the YETI “Built for the Wild” Bulls of the Event after each recording 46.75-point bull scores. Pearl Harbor disposed of Stetson Lawrence (Williston, North Dakota) in 3.82 seconds in the championship round, while Bruiser also scored 46.75 points when he combined with Wing for the event-winning ride.

The Built Ford Tough Series will now travel to Glendale, Arizona, where Gila River Arena will host the Ak-Chin Invitational March 25-26.

Round 1 can be seen on PBR LIVE and the PBR LIVE app starting at 9:30 p.m. ET on March 25th, while Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round will broadcast on PBR LIVE at 4:30 p.m. ET on March 26th.


CBS Sports Network will broadcast the Championship Sunday action starting at 5 p.m. ET on March 26th.

 Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Ty Murray Invitational, presented by Isleta Resort and Casino.
WisePies Arena, aka The Pit, Albuquerque, New Mexico
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

  1. Stormy Wing, 88.5-88-0-95.25-271.75-715 Points.

2. Eduardo Aparecido, 0-88.75-0-91.25-180.00-265 Points.
(tie). Cody Nance, 85.75-87.25-86.25-0-259.25-265 Points.
4. Guilherme Marchi, 86.25-82.75-85.25-0-254.25-201.66 Points.
5. Dener Barbosa, 0-88.25-86.5-0-174.75-145 Points.
6. Troy Wilkinson, 86.5-0-87.25-0-173.75-125 Points.
7. Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-87.5-0-87.50-105 Points.
8. Matt Triplett, 0-87.25-86.75-0-174.00-97.5 Points.
9. Cooper Davis, 0-88.5-0-0-88.50-70 Points.
10. Claudio Montanha Jr., 87.75-0-0-0-87.75-65 Points.
11. Shane Proctor, 0-88.25-84.75-0-173.00-55 Points.
12. Stetson Lawrence, 86.5-0-0-0-86.50-50 Points.
13. Dakota Buttar, 0-88.25-0-0-88.25-45 Points.
14. Luis Blanco, 0-0-86.25-0-86.25-23.75 Points.
15. Cody Rodeo Tyler, 86.25-0-0-0-86.25-17.91 Points.
(tie). J.W. Harris, 86.25-0-0-0-86.25-17.91 Points.
17. Chase Outlaw, 83.5-86.75-0-0-170.25-10 Points.
18. J.B. Mauney, 0-86.25-0-0-86.25-1.25 Points.
19. Emilio Resende, 86-0-0-0-86.00
20. Gage Gay, 85.75-0-0-0-85.75
21. Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-84.5-0-84.50
22. Mike Lee, 82.25-0-0-0-82.25
23. Robson Aragao, 81-0-0-0-81.00
24. Paulo Ferreira Lima, 79.25-0-0-0-79.25
25. Marco Antonio Eguchi, 74.5-0-0-0-74.50
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Luciano De Castro, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Koal Livingston, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Brady Sims, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Jake Gowdy, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Teel, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Tanner Byrne, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Jesus, 0-0-0-0-0.00