Carroll College athletics release

HELENA – Carroll College junior forward Ryan Imhoff and senior guard Zach Taylor have been named to the Small College Basketball 2017 Bevo Francis Award Watch List, the organization announced today.

The Clarence “Bevo” Francis Award is presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within Small College Basketball. Considerations will be season statistics and individual achievements, awards, personal character and team achievements.

The watch list consists of 100 players from NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA Division I, NAIA Division II, USCAA and NCCAA. There are over 1100 schools that play in those divisions.

Story continues below

“I sincerely congratulate the 100 players that are listed on the Bevo Francis Watch List,” said SCB Founder, John McCarthy. “Clearly, this is a very elite group of players that are each in the midst of an outstanding season.

“It’s incredibly difficult to come up with a list of 100 players for the Bevo Francis Award. There are a tremendous amount of players that are having outstanding seasons, yet when you try to choose 100 players from about 1,100 – 1,200 teams, it’s a daunting task. Our committee has spent a good deal of time providing a lot of feedback, and I am grateful to have so many credible coaches that are engaged in this process.”

Carroll College junior Ryan Imhoff is on the Bevo Francis small college award watch list. (Photo courtesy Jerek Wolcott)

Carroll is one of just a handful of schools with two players on the list and Imhoff and Taylor are the only players from the Frontier Conference.

Imhoff leads the Saints in scoring (17.6 PPG), rebounds (7.0 RPG), blocks (1.44 BPG) and is tied with Taylor with 3.67 assists per game. His shooting percentage of 55.3 percent ranks 18th in NAIA DI.

Taylor is averaging 15.5 points, and 4.5 rebounds per game. He is shooting 52.4 percent

Carroll College guard Zach Taylor and teammate Ryan Imhoff have been named to the Bevo Francis small college watch list. (RICHIE MELBY/MTN Sports)

from the field, including 46.6 from the three-point line.

The list will be whittled to 50 players on Feb. 15, then narrowed down to 25 players in a Watch List published on March 15. The finalists will be announced in a highlight video that will be released on April 1, while the 2017 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced on April 3.

The award is sponsored by Sheward-Fulks Insurance and the University of Rio Grande.